Becoming a Boelsma Part 1: It begins

It all began back on January 11, 2015 when I met with my local Pastor about the possibility of being baptized at the next baptism Sunday. I was really excited about being baptized and crushed when he told me that he wouldn’t be able to do so unless my boyfriend and I lived separately. I couldn’t be baptised because I was willingly tempting myself toward sin by living with my boyfriend. While the Bible doesn’t directly say that living together before marriage is a sin, it does tell us this:

Flee from sexual immorality. Every other sin a person commits is outside the body, but the sexually immoral person sins against his own body” – 1 Corinthians 6:18

Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t so keen on this recommendation at first, but as the day went on it began to make more sense.

My boyfriend, Lee, picked me up from the church after my meeting to head over to his parents house for the day. He wondered why I was in tears, so I told him about what happened. We evaluated the possibility of living apart until we marry, but it was hard because we had been living together for 6 months at that point and all of his things were in my apartment. When we got to Lee’s parent’s place, we sat down with his mom and dad, both long-time knowledgeable Christians, and talked about how we should face this. We basically had two options, live apart and keep dating until we marry, or ignore the Pastor’s recommendations and just keep on living together. Well judging by the title of this blog post, I’m sure you’ve guessed our choice.

Lee and I had often talked about getting married in the fall of this year, so we were pretty excited to have decided to finally do so earlier. We wanted our married life to begin with a solid foundation in God, so we accepted the Pastor’s recommendation and decided to live apart until the wedding date.

We were hoping for a March 7th wedding, to celebrate our first “non-date” date together, but my boyfriend’s parents couldn’t make that date. And after comparing schedules, we landed on February 7, one month earlier than we had hoped…giving us just under 4 weeks to plan the whole thing.

I called my mom and dad and shared the news. They were a little surprised by how soon we we’re planning to get married, but they were supportive of our choice. Well, it took dad a little more convincing, but he eventually came around.

And so on January 11, our crazy 4-week preparations began. Find out how we planned and executed a most perfect wedding in just 4 weeks in my next blog!

-A

2 thoughts on “Becoming a Boelsma Part 1: It begins

Leave a Reply

